I woke up on this lovely Friday morning and decided that I should head to the Roman Forum. I had heard everyone talk about how cool it was and I figured that I should at least check it out. Here's a nice tip! The next time you are out in Rome your ticket for the Colosseum works for two days! You can get into the Colosseum one day and then go to the Roman Forum the next day. So I figured that out while I was in line for the forum so I hopped out of line and got immediately in! I think I went in around 11 or 12 and I shut the place down at like 3 or 4.
A view of the city from a hill in the Roman Forum
So after seeing the Roman Forum I wasn't quite sure what to do next. Since the Trevi Fountain was my favorite spot in the city I decided to go there. I sat looking at it and then I started to sit on the edge. After sitting on the edge of the fountain for a about a minute or two two guys came up and sat in the spot next to me. I started talking to them and found out that they met in the hostel that they were staying at. One of them was from Chicago and the other was from South Korea. We started talking and all decided to get something to eat.
Here is a picture of the three of us. John on my left and Jeff on my right.
John said he knew of a cheap place to get sandwiches which turned out to be a place that I got gelato on my way to the Trevi Fountain. As we sat there talking Jeff said that he found like a Jewish ghetto or something? He said he wanted to grab a drink and sit in the piazza there so John and I agree to go with him.
Jeff led us to this little piazza that had no tourists (besides us so we probably stuck out like sore thumbs) and we just sat on a bench and had a beer.
After our drink we started to walk back towards the Colosseum. I heard grumblings about the Pope and what was going on and I wanted to walk by and see what was going on. The entire street leading up to Colosseum was closed off the whole day (the other main streets leading up to it were also crossed off I believe) in anticipation for crowds. I told Jeff and John that I had no plans for the night so I decided that I would try to see the Pope. It was around 730 when I started waiting and I just figured "When in Rome" right??
I ended up waiting until 915? It was a rather long time because I had no idea when he was supposed to arrive. I started talking to some girls in front of me, one was from Seattle and the other two were from Canada.
When we heard cheering we looked up at the screen that was on the scaffolding on the Colosseum and we saw the Pope getting out of a car and sitting in a chair. He actually was closer to me than I thought! I could see him from where I as standing.
Ok so above is the screen that I watched the Stations of the Cross from
The red tent is where the Pope was sitting
See the bright white light? The figure under that is the Pope
I realize that these are definitely not the best pictures but it was really the best that I could get. I did not want to be taking pictures the whole time and live the moment through my lens.
So the Stations of the Cross started around 915 and lasted until about 1030 1045? The procession started inside the Colosseum and made its way up to the Pope. With each station the cross was passed to various people. Once it was passed to a family, a group of kids, nuns, and other people. I am sure it was a nice ceremony but it was all in Italian I think? So I couldn't hear understand anything. Whatever it was a cool experience none the less.
Also I think the Pope fell a asleep at least once during the ceremony! When the cross was going to be passed to him a guard behind him had to tap his shoulder.
After the ceremony I walked to a cool little bar/restaurant and grabbed a pasta dinner and made my way back to the hostel.
Saturday 3/19 (My favorite day in Rome)
There was a group of 7 girls that are in Oxford with me that pretty much did the same exact Spring break trip as me. I messaged one of the girls to meet up later. I also messaged Jeff from the day before to meet up also. I waited for Jeff for a little bit but he did not show up. I later found out that he took the metro to meet up with me and it broke down so he got stuck.
My Mom told me to go to Piazza Navona and I did not know what else to do so I went there. It was a rather dismal day and it had been sprinkling on and off. I found my way to the large piazza and I sat on a beach in front of one of the smaller fountains until a couple started to block my view. I started to walk down towards the large fountain and I wasn't in the mood for crowds so I kept walking down and then it started to pour.
I found my way to a museum right by the piazza and took a quick stop in there and it quickly stopped raining and I continued down the alley that I was walking down. Since I was cold I really wanted something warm so I asked a two locals who were walking by me to see if there was a café near by. In the little English they knew they motioned me forward and said yes. They led me to a café that was filled with locals. I loved it. I always want to do thing something that the locals do. I get tired with all the other tourists swarming the sites and trying to take pictures and it is always a nice break.
The workers were really nice and welcoming and were happy to serve me. They also had a good hot chocolate and a Panini with marinara sauce. I was sitting outside and literally sat on the street and watched the very few cars and people walk by. I also saw a horse and buggy drive by.
After sitting at my table for a while I figured I would just wander and found my self at the Spanish Steps! I also picked up some gelato on the way
Piazza Navona
My street side cafe
I did not stay long at the Spanish Steps due to all the other tourists so I started to shop for souvenirs. Then I actually started shopping! Surprise! I actually went shopping! I don't know what happened but yes I went shopping.
After my shopping I went to the Trevi Fountain where I said that I would meet up with the girls (Reilly, Paige, Mikaela, Carly, and Marissa). Once they showed up they had already eaten dinner so I got a pizza to take-away ate it in front of the fountain with the girls keeping me company.
The girls said that they had found a really good gelato spot. So it was a bit of a walk in the light rain (because it had started to rain again. But it was fun so it was all good). After a long walk we arrived at the gelato shop. After being in the shop for only 5 minutes it started to pour and we thought we would just wait it out. But we finished our gelato before then so we set out back towards their hostel. I have no idea how I stayed so dry. One of my shoes got drenched because I stepped in a puddle that I did not see. Made it back to their hostel alright and slightly wet. I hung out with them in their room fo a little bit and then I decided I should head back to my hostel.
This was my favorite in Rome because I actually got a feel for Rome. I wandered don little alleyways and went to a locals only coffee shop. I really enjoyed just getting lost and finding something really cool.
A little side story when I was looking for souvenirs I asked a female police officer what I should get. After describing what I was looking for she said "You should find a nice Roman girl and bring her home. Your family would like that."
The Pope speaking at the end of the ceremony