Monday, May 5, 2014

Thursday 5/1: Stratford Upon Avon

After coming home from the May Day festivities I blogged and got ready for the day. We had a class trip to Stratford Upon Avon. We all met at the White Horse and got on the bus there to leave. I plugged straight into my iPod and tried to sleep.

We arrived at Warwick Castle and met our tour guide Roger. He took us into the dungeon and told us some gruesome stories, showed us into the grand hall and showed us the lavish rooms. When he was done with showing us around we had some free time. Roger recommended a walk down to the river where we could get good pictures of the castle or to walk around the castle walls. Well we all wanted to do it but it was raining outside so we explored the inside of the castle that we hadn't seen. I felt like I was walking around in the television show Downton Abbey. I have never seen the show, but from what I have seen I felt like I was walking around in the castle that the show takes place in.

 Walking up to Warwick Castle

 They had wax people in almost every room. It was really freaky because sometimes you thought they were real or saw people that you thought were fake!


After we had explored all the inside that we could we looked outside and saw that it was still raining. We decided to just go for it. I had forgotten my umbrella for the day and had my jacket that was water resistant, but not water proof. Oh well, it was fun regardless.




 After going down to the river we went to the peacock garden! WE heard them calling each other and I joined in....and they responded....to me...no joke

 Yea the peacocks were just chilling up in the tree. We didn't see any with all their plumes out though.

After we visited the peacocks we decided to walk the wall of the castle. It was fun and all but being wet and climbing all the stairs was tough. The stairs definitely made me sore for the next half hour.


Climbing the stairs from the walkway to this look out was killer


The worst part about the stair was that you would go all the way up to the top of the towers to go back down! All in good fun though.

After the wall people started to head back to the bus, but Paige and I saw a cool little grassy hill to climb up so we made our way up it and had these views of the grounds.






Paige and me on the Hill

After staying up on the hill for about five minutes we made our way back to the front. We walked in in our wet clothes and bought ice cream and headed back to the bus where our lunch was.

We all got back on the bus and made our way to Anne Hathaway's Cottage. No, it's not the actresses cottage but Shakespeare's wife's home. The house was cool but small with low ceilings that were really annoying. The garden was the prettiest part of it though. I walked around with Miakela and we found where a maze used to be and found a little path that led us to a hole in the fence. We went through it. On the other side there were beautiful fields...hang on lemme show you.
 This was in front of Anne Hathaway's Cottage. I have no idea what it was. This is Mikaela and I jumping off of it



 Ok here is the pathway we found outside the property. I guess I did not take a picture of the fields...but they were really green! I swear!

 Well, we walked along the fields and followed the pathway to where it ended which was in the neighborhood by the cottage. We had to find our way back, but it was fun getting lost.

We all go back on the bus and went to Shakespeare's birthplace. After that we all walked to the church where he was baptized and is currently buried. I did not see his grave because you had to pay to see it and I am not really a Shakespeare fan. We then broke off to go to dinner.

I went to dinner at the Dirty Duck, which is a pub right across the street from the Theater. I guess a ot of actors and actresses go there right after their performances. On the walls they had pictures of the actors that hd come in. I saw Judi Dench on the wall.....she was the most well-known name I saw on the wall. After dinner we got gelato....which was really disappointing because coming from Italy and having it almost twice a day there it....it was a total let down.

We headed back to the theater and saw Arden of Faversham. This play was way better than Billy Elliot (the play we saw in London). It was all in Shakespearian and.....yea it was pretty good. They had a lot of effects and I was in the second row so I couldn't go to sleep (because I had only had about two hours of sleep for the past two days). Oh well.

Then we all got on the bus and came home!


1 comment:

  1. So pretty there....glad you went up and got those panoramic pictures, even in the rain. It's been so fun seeing all the places you have visited. Now, on to Ireland!

    ReplyDelete